stripped bare

My October Stimulating Reads

with 3 comments

To stimulate my reading habit, ahem, I bought a book of Victorian erotica, two of my favourite genres together. It took me two and a half weeks to complete, but it sure did catch my attention. It’s called “My Secret Life” by Anonymous. Yeah, I dig this kind of psuedo-mysterious shit. After all, this blog was named after the book “The Bride Stripped Bare” by Anonymous, so it’s right up my sexy alley. I didn’t learn anything I didn’t know about sex from this book (but virgin boys who want to know about a woman’s genitalia and how to please women would find more here than from pRon flicks) and I know now that men and women are the same, whether they are Victorian or Singaporean. All women secretly love to fuck, and all men love to fuck secretly. You can quote me on that.

After putting down that book, I lost no time getting into, pardon the pun, my next one. I scanned the list of novels on the right of this page that my Twitter friends (whose literary taste I trust very much) had recommended that I read. For some reason, “Siddhartha” by Hermann Hesse caught my eye. Usually, this wouldn’t be the kind of book I’d pick off the bookshelf, but I was so glad I did. The author’s words and wisdom came at the right point in my life when I needed them. If I had read this earlier, it may not have touched me so deeply. It was a surprisingly easy read and my early reservations about its religious themes flew right out the window the moment I caught on to Hesse’s poetic style of expression. The things worth learning from this novel transcends all religion. While I do not claim to have “found myself” after reading the book, I somehow felt peaceful after reading it. After all, Gam zeh ya’avor.

I read the digital version of this book, but I will get a physical copy. This is one book I will read over and over at different points in my life and I will probably reflect on how I have—or have not—changed since the last time I read it. Thank you, @Howling_Fantod.

Next book? Hello Murakami. How strange that you appear again, now that it has all ended.

Written by smudgi3

November 3, 2011, Thursday at 19:20

Posted in Braincells

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hermann Hesse’s novels are good stuff!

    mrdes

    November 4, 2011, Friday at 08:39

    • I can’t believe you still read me! What other of his books would you recommend?

      smudgi3

      November 4, 2011, Friday at 12:52

  2. “Narcissus and Goldmund” is one of my favourite among his novels.

    mrdes

    November 12, 2011, Saturday at 16:17


Leave a Reply

