stripped bare

Furry

with 2 comments

My alarm buzzed unceremoniously at 0705 this morning. I stretched and kicked my duvet away, ready to start the day.

I heard a bell tinkling and it was approaching my bedroom. Still lying in bed, I lifted my head slightly to see a forward-curving tail at the foot of my bed. I smiled and called out to him.

My cat had come for a morning visit.

Does he know how good it feels to have a warm, furry generator on one’s tummy first thing in the morning? Does he know how happy it makes me feel to have him leave his fur all over my duvet as he rolls around my bed, like it belonged to him?

He must know, because he only visits me and purrs on my tummy once in a very long while. He knows how it is a privilege to have him so close to me I can feel his purr, so he only comes to me when I really, really need him. Then I won’t take him for granted.

And, because I was delighted His Furriness came to me this morning, I spent almost half an hour manja-ing with him in bed. I was late for work, my nose is runny from sneezing his fur out, and I have a furry bed to go home to later.

But I wouldn’t have wanted to start my morning any other way today.

Written by smudgi3

September 18, 2009, Friday at 11:10

Posted in Dear Diary, Insight

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. *smile*

    D W

    September 18, 2009, Friday at 11:33

  2. In response to your last sentence: me neither.

    Ridzwan

    September 19, 2009, Saturday at 22:17


Leave a Reply

